Contact Us

This field is required
This field is required
A valid email address is required
This field is required

Join Our Newsletter

This field is required

2018 Annual Member Awards

October 01, 2018

The Annual Member Awards were announced at the Summer Annual Conference of Ohio Conference of Community Development (OCCD). The 2018 honorees are:

Legacy Award – In recognition of individuals who have advanced community development programs with particular ardor and creativity throughout their careers, and where long-term benefits are demonstrable and noteworthy.


 Ed Hurley (posthumously)
Pictured are Hanna Diewald, President Paul Herdeg, Sally Miller, Whitaker Wright, John Cleek, and Sharon Sabo


Public Service Awards – In recognition of individuals who have devoted much of their lives to the benefit of society through careers in community development in the public and/or private sectors.


 Dale Hartle, Ohio Regional Development Corporation
Pictured are President Paul Herdeg and Dale Hartle


Phil Snider (posthumously)
Pictured are Cameron Snider, President Paul Herdeg, Joan Snider, and Kristina Snider



Young Community Development Professional of the Year – In recognition of young community development professionals whose work on a project or program had a major impact on their community. This is the inaugural year of this award that recognizes community development professionals under the age of 35.


Talon Flohr, City of Sandusky


Community Development Partners of the Year – In recognition of a non-profit or faith-based organization, individual, business, financial institution, foundation, intermediary, government agency, or other entity that has provided exceptional support to the community development industry.


Represented by – Gina Wilt and pictured with President Paul Herdeg


In addition to the Member Awards, OCCD created the Public Service Scholarship Fund in 2012 to support students who are passionate about the field of community development. The scholarship fund was established in honor of William Graves and Gary Locke, and in 2017 was expanded to include Karen Kerns Dresser, who committed their careers to community development and public service in Ohio. Recipients of $2000 scholarships will include:  Nicholas Chretien, a graduate student studying Public Administration at Cleveland State University; Keisha Mitchell, a graduate student studying Public Administration at Wright State University; Chloe Musick, a graduate student studying Public Administration at Ohio University; and Brittany Rabb, an undergraduate student studying Sociology at Case Western Reserve.   Present to receive their awards:

Congratulations to you all!



« Back to Blog
P.O. Box 776
Urbana, Ohio 43078
Phone:  (937) 652-3523
Fax:  1-866-728-4581
Find us on:
Copyright © 2024 Ohio Conference of Community Development. All rights reserved.