2012 Ohio Department of Development Director’s Awards

OCCD Annual Meeting July 2012

Recognition of recipients of the 2012 Director’s Awards was held during the Ohio Conference of Community Development’s summer annual meeting luncheon.

In 2012, 14 nominations were submitted from Ohio communities that use grant programs administered by the Office of Community Development. Since 2009, the Director’s Awards for Excellence in Housing and Community Development have recognized communities that have made significant differences with projects that impact the quality of life for low- and moderate-income residents in their areas.

Grant administrators and chief executive officers who manage funds from the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), the HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME), the Emergency Shelter Grant (ESG), the Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program, and the Ohio Housing Trust Fund are eligible to nominate successful, completed projects.

Nominations must describe how the community development or housing project has impacted the overall community and benefited its citizens, in particular, low- and moderate-income individuals. In addition, projects or services that have helped to reduce or prevent homelessness in the state of Ohio are eligible for nomination.

William Murdock, Chief, Community Services Division of the Ohio Department of Development presented the awards.


Affordable Housing Award
Haller-Norval Apartments, Coleman Professional Services
and WSOS Community Action Commission

This project was in collaboration with the City of Lima and Mental Health and Recovery Services Board of Allen, Auglaize and Hardin counties. Coleman Professional services developed and constructed housing units for clientele of the Mental Health and Recovery Services Board. Utilizing Neighborhood Stabilization Program (NSP2) funds, the project consists of eight new units of housing that are Energy Star and Enterprise Green Communities compliant. The project benefits clientele of the Mental Health and Recovery Services Board.

Accepting the 2012 Director’s Award for Excellence in Affordable Housing were:

  • Don Corley, Housing Development Coordinator, WSOS Community Action Commission
  • Jodi Hepler, Operations Director, Coleman Professional Services
  • Alice Giesken, Mental Health Recovery and Services Board of Alalen, Auglaize and
    Hardin Counties and
  • Pete White, City of Lima Land Bank


Community and Economic Development Award
City of Cambridge 

Funds from the CDBG Tier II Downtown Revitalization Program were used on the Wheeling Avenue District project, which was leveraged with funds from the Ohio Department of Transportation, the Ohio Public Works, and the city’s Revolving Loan Fund. The focus was specifically facade improvement and code compliance. Property owners benefiting in the target area were given the opportunity to make improvements and upgrades to facades, windows and HVAC systems, as well as to assist with upgrades of electrical, plumbing and new roofs for buildings that were not up to code.

Accepting the 2012 Director’s Award for Excellence in Community and Economic Development were:

  • Mike Edwards, Downtown Coordinator, and
  • Kim Haught, Interim Director for Economic and Community Development, City of Cambridge


Homelessness and Supportive Housing Award
Lancaster-Fairfield Community Action Agency

This project was accomplished by using funds from the Emergency Shelter Grant Discretionary Program, in partnership with the Lancaster Rotary Club. The Emergency Homeless Shelter for Families provides temporary housing and other emergency services to homeless families in Fairfield County. The shelter was renovated to expand capacity and make each unit self-contained. Each self-contained unit is equipped with four beds, bedding, storage, private ADA compliant bathrooms, a kitchenette and a laundry facility with private entrances to each unit. The renovation benefits homeless families residing at the Emergency Homeless Shelter for Families in Fairfield County.

Accepting the 2012 Director’s Award for Excellence in Homelessness and Supportive Housing were:

  • Kellie Ailes, Executive Director and
  • Carol Wagner, Social Services Director, Lancaster-Fairfield Community
    Action Agency


Innovation in Housing and Community Development Award
Board of Trumbull County Commissioners and Coleman Professional Services

Using Neighborhood Stabilization Program funds, this project was in collaboration with Coleman Professional Services (aka Behavioral Health), and the Trumbull County Mental Health and Recovery Board. The funds were used to purchase and rehabilitate the entire structure from basement to attic of a foreclosed century home in downtown City of Warren. The project created a transitional housing facility benefiting homeless youth ages 18 to 26 who are either exiting the foster care system, a mental health or drug addiction program, or a correctional institution.

Accepting the 2012 Director’s Award for Excellence in Innovation in
Housing and Community Development were:

  • Bill Miller, Director, Trumbull County Planning Commission
  • Julie Green, Grants Coordinator, Trumbull County Planning Commission
  • Tammy Weaver, Coleman Professional Services

Return to Best Practices

Ohio Conference of Community Development Public Service Scholarship

Learn More

The scholarship program was established by OCCD to honor two men who dedicated their careers to Public Service. 

Like to make a donation?
Click Here


Upcoming Events