OCCD Annual Award Winners to Be Recognized at Summer Meeting

June 28, 2018

Ohio Conference of Community Development (OCCD), a statewide association of community and economic development practitioners, announced the winners of the 6th Annual OCCD Member Awards, the President’s Award for Innovative Practices, and this year’s Public Service Scholarships.

The 2018 honorees for the sixth annual OCCD Member Awards are as follows:

         Legacy Awards – In recognition of individuals who have advanced community development programs with particular ardor and creativity throughout their careers, and where long-term benefits are demonstrable and noteworthy.

 2018 Recipients:  Ed Hurley (posthumously)

         The George Voinovich Distinguished Public Service Award – In recognition of individuals who have devoted much of their lives to the benefit of society through careers in community development in the public and/or private sectors.

2018 Recipients:  Dale Hartle, ORDC and Phil Snider (posthumously)

        Community Development Partner of the Year Award – In recognition of a non-profit or faith-based organization, individual, business, financial institution, foundation, intermediary, government agency, or other entity that has provided exceptional support to the community development industry.

2018 Recipient:  COHHIO

         Young Community Development Professional of the Year – In recognition of young community development professionals whose work on a project or program had a major impact on their community. This is the inaugural year of this award that recognizes community development professionals under the age of 35.

 2018 Recipient:  Talon Flohr, Sandusky

In addition to the Member Awards, OCCD created the Public Service Scholarship Fund in 2012 to support students who are passionate about the field of community development. The scholarship fund was established in honor of William Graves and Gary Locke, and in 2017 was expanded to include Karen Kerns Dresser, who committed their careers to community development and public service in Ohio. Recipients of $2000 scholarships will include:  Nicholas Chretien, a graduate student studying Public Administration at Cleveland State University; Keisha Mitchell, a graduate student studying Public Administration at Wright State University; Chloe Musick, a graduate student studying Public Administration at Ohio University; and Brittany Rabb, an undergraduate student studying Sociology at Case Western Reserve. 

The winner of the 2018 OCCD President’s Award for Innovative Practices was also announced. The Montgomery County’s Trucks and Tomatoes” Job Training and Urban Garden Enhancement Project is the recipient of this year’s President’s Award. Montgomery County’s “Trucks and Tomatoes” Job Training and Urban Garden Enhancement Project which was funded in part by Montgomery County’s Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), with additional leverage from Montgomery County general revenue funds. This truly innovative project was the result of a partnership between Montgomery County, the Dayton Foodbank, Butler Tech, and Central State University (CSU) with support from private sector trucking companies.

OCCD is an association of more than 160 community and economic development professionals representing cities, counties, villages, non-profit organizations and consulting firms across Ohio. Its members are dedicated to improving the livability of their communities through various initiatives and collaborations that aim to eliminate urban blight and encourage planning practices that enable a healthy, sustainable, and equitable way of life for all citizens. The OCCD Member Awards were created to formally recognize those community development professionals who have made the greatest difference in their communities and in Ohio.

The 2018 award and scholarship recipients will be honored at OCCD’s Annual Summer Luncheon and Banquet held July 25, 2018 in Sandusky, Ohio.

« Back to Blog

Ohio Conference of Community Development Public Service Scholarship

Learn More

The scholarship program was established by OCCD to honor two men who dedicated their careers to Public Service. 

Like to make a donation?
Click Here


Upcoming Events